A Person of Substance

and why you should strive to be one

Since my ex-boyfriend and I broke up, I have found myself to be more open minded than before. I smile more, have conversations with strangers, and make a conscious effort to be more approachable. What I have learned so far about myself is that I really do not like to be surrounded by people who lack substance.

The more I talk to people the more I realize how a lot of us are guilty of showing off, judging one another, complaining about things that are so very irrelevant. Whether you want to admit it or not, you too get annoyed when the wifi is slow and you’re trying to post a picture on instragram of how much fun you’re having at the moment instead of actually putting your phone away and interacting with people.

I will be the first to say that of course I get excited when I see people liking what I post on any social media platform. It’s a confidence booster. However, when I really want to connect with someone, I don’t want to hear about how they spend countless hours binge watching a show on Netflix.

When I really want to connect with someone, I want to hear about their goals, where they want to travel, where they see themselves a year from now. These are the things that I find attractive in anyone I want to become a part of my life, whether it is as a friend or a partner. For the most part, when I say you should strive to be a person of substance, what I really mean is that you should find something that you are passionate about and work towards it.

Do me a favor and listen to this wine bottle will you? Go ahead and attempt where you have not gone before, do the things you have not done. Step out of your comfort zone, and find yourself. See what life has to offer and take every opportunity that comes your way.

 

Leave a Reply

